Awards and prizes

The Paul Wilson Brand Repetitive Stress Award (PWB-RSA)

To commemorate the pioneering work of the late Dr. Paul Wilson Brand (1914-2003) and to stimulate further research in this field, the PWB-RSA was donated by a private anonymous.

The prize is awarded to applicants submitting an abstract to a regular DFSG meeting, presenting new clinical or experimental data on the effects of repetitive mechanical stress on soft tissues, joints or bones.

The PWB-RSA comprises the sum of 3000 € and the privilege to lecture on the topic during that meeting.

The winner is nominated by the programme committee of the Diabetic Foot Study Group from 2014 onwards.


Next award will be granted at the Virtual DFSG Meeting 2020.

Read more about the award

Kenneth A. Johnson Memorial Lecture, presented at the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society Meeting in 2000.

Oral prize

The 3 best oral abstracts will be presented in a session during DFSG 2020.

Audience will have the opportunity to vote for the best of the 3, who will receive an award of EUR 100.

E-Poster prize

In 2020 the DFSG poster prize will be an e-Poster prize.

All uploaded e-Posters will be evaluated by a panel accoring to the following criteria:

  • Visually appealing
  • Well laid out in a logical manner
  • Relevant and interesting content
  • Has clear conclusions

1st Prize winner: 75 EUR

2nd Prize winner: 50 EUR


A list of award winners from previous years can be viewed here

Life Time Achievement Award

The DFSG Life Time Achievement Award is awarded to recognize outstanding late-career health care professionals who have made significant contributions to the field of diabetic foot care.

The Executive Committee of DFSG decides who will receive the award.

Next award will be awarded at DFSG 2021.

A list of the award receivers in the past can be found here>>