Awards and prizes

The Paul Wilson Brand Repetitive Stress Award (PWB-RSA)

To commemorate the pioneering work of the late Dr. Paul Wilson Brand (1914-2003) and to stimulate further research in this field, the PWB-RSA was donated by a private anonymous.

The prize is awarded to applicants submitting an abstract to a regular DFSG meeting, presenting new clinical or experimental data on the effects of repetitive mechanical stress on soft tissues, joints or bones.

The PWB-RSA comprises the sum of 3000 € and the privilege to lecture on the topic during that meeting.

The winner is nominated by the programme committee of the Diabetic Foot Study Group from 2014 onwards.


Next award will be granted at the DFSG Meeting 2022.

Read more about the award

Kenneth A. Johnson Memorial Lecture, presented at the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society Meeting in 2000.

Oral prize

The 5 best oral abstracts will be presented in a session during DFSG 20202.

Audience will have the opportunity to vote for the best of the 5, who will receive an award of EUR 100.

Poster prize

The highest scoring posters will be presented in a poster session and evaluated by a panel accoring to the following criteria:

  • Visually appealing
  • Well laid out in a logical manner
  • Relevant and interesting content
  • Has clear conclusions

1st Prize winner: 75 EUR

2nd Prize winner: 50 EUR


A list of award winners from previous years can be viewed here

First time presenter travel grant

Applies to nurses, podiatrists, research fellows, doctors in training or students aged 40 or under on 1 September 2022.  

After acceptance of abstract a letter must be sent to explaining the reason for applying for a grant, together with a confirmation email from the consultant or supervisor at university. Only limited grants are available and the Chairman reserves the right to refuse without giving any reasons.

Letter must be sent to by 28th July 2022.

Amount: 200 EUR

Life Time Achievement Award

The DFSG Life Time Achievement Award is awarded to recognize outstanding late-career health care professionals who have made significant contributions to the field of diabetic foot care.

The Executive Committee of DFSG decides who will receive the award.

Next award will be awarded at DFSG 2022.

A list of the award receivers in the past can be found here>>