Dear DFSG members, participants in previous DFSG meetings, 2020 abstract submitters, exhibitors and sponsors

After careful consideration of the conditions surrounding the continuing spread of the COVID-19 epidemic in Europe and globally, the DFSG Executive Committee can unfortunately not see how we can come together in a physical meeting in Bratislava in September 2020.

We have come to the decision to change the form of the 16th Meeting of the DFSG.

The meeting will instead take place as a virtual meeting.


The Virtual DFSG meeting 2020

The meeting will be a mixture of live sessions and on-demand sessions. Most of the activities will still take place Friday-Sunday 18-20 September 2020, however in an online edition.

The Virtual conference will include live or on-demand sessions of:

  • 3 Best Oral Abstracts
  • Oral abstracts sessions
  • Paul Brand Award
  • High-level Scientific Sessions
  • Discussion groups
  • Session by the DFSG Prevention of the First Ulcer Study Group
  • Industry sponsored sessions
  • E-posters
  • Business Meeting (General Assembly), including election to the Executive committee

More details regarding the meeting will be available on the website in a few weeks.

In an ideal world we would wait and see, but with the health of the global community as a main priority and the planning of participants, speakers, sponsors and collaborators in mind we feel it is right to make this decision now rather than later.

The DFSG Executive Committee and the DFSG Secretariat will work hard on delivering a successful and memorable virtual conference in September, where the “DFSG family” can meet in a different way.

We would like to thank all our DFSG members, participants, speakers, abstract submitters and industry partners for their understanding, continuous support and flexibility.

We hope for your understanding and look forward to the virtual meeting in September 2020.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the DFSG Secretariat on


Best wishes,

On behalf of the DFSG Executive Committee

Chairman, Dr. Klaus Kirketerp-Møller, Denmark